Salsa, the Gateway Dance and the Trifecta Connection

From my experience salsa is one of the most well-known dances amongst non-dancers. For example, when any type of Latin music plays it’s often mistaken for salsa. When I tell people I dance bachata I often get a confused look, then I say it’s a Latin dance like salsa and this is followed by an “ah” of acknowledgement. Even though many people may not know exactly what it is, most people have heard of it and know that it’s a dance.

When people enter the Latin dance world, most do so through salsa. This is why I consider salsa as the gateway dance. Once you’re in the Latin dance world you get exposed to and learn about other dances like cha cha, bachata and kizomba.

What’s the difference between these dances?trifecta connection. Source: Ifreestyle.ca
Each of these dances are danced to different types of music and have their own set of basic steps. Some of these dances more easily lends itself to be remixed with mainstream hits and becomes more recognizable to those outside the dance scene.  I often find that the best dances are when you achieve the trifecta connection between you, your partner and the music. Without getting any more technical about each dance/their music I would say that each dance has its own character.

For me personally, I fell in love with bachata and kizomba early on because of the trifecta. Many songs have the nuances of my favourite genre of music R&B and the dancers are more likely to achieve that connection.  Salsa and cha cha, I find to be the most forgiving dances, all the while being the hardest and most technical. What I mean by forgiving is when salsa is danced in open hold there is a lot of space and room between partners and often tension is not fully transferred between the arms so even if there is slight timing issues the dance can be still go on. For kizomba, which typically requires a closer hold between partners, if there is a miss step you are likely to bump into one another or step on each other’s toes.

Below I’ve included links to some salsa, bachata and kizomba social dances:

Salsa

 

Bachata

 

Kizomba

I’ve been dancing salsa for just over 3 years now and I feel like it is my weakest dance. I know the basics – however the trifecta in salsa often eludes me. Reasons of the elusion could be my own confidence and that I don’t social dance salsa enough and salsa is generally more difficult to get that connection with your partner. My goal is to continually work on my salsa, to be confident and realize the trifecta connection.

I would love to hear your thoughts, experiences or advice about the trifecta connection.

One thought on “Salsa, the Gateway Dance and the Trifecta Connection

  1. You almost make Salsa sound like a gateway drug of sorts!
    But I agree that getting connection with the music in Salsa is the hardest, probably because it’s a little faster and more technically complicated than the other two.

    Like

Leave a comment